

Last updated: 14 October 2017

WSKA – Who's who, and how it works.

The **Members** are the surf kayakers who pay a subscription fee at each World Championships.

The **Country Representatives** are the channel of communication between their nations' surf kayakers and the WSKA. They share information both ways, and represent their nation's views in all aspects of the WSKA. Each nation is responsible for selecting their Country Rep and advising the WSKA secretary of the name and contact details. (WSKA is not responsible for chasing each Country to inform or update their Representative).

The **Country Representatives entitled to vote** are the Countries which entered the Team event in the past three World Championships (including the current one). These Country Reps will vote on any significant matters when they are called upon to do so, being given 2 weeks maximum to discuss with their country if required. Any deciding vote will be cast by the Chairman if required.

From October 2017 to the start of the 2019 World Championships, the Country Representatives entitled to vote are:

Australia – Liam Thierens
Basque – Edu Etxeberria
Denmark – Henrik Gudmand Hoyer
England – Denzil Pearce
Galicia – Jose Pineiro
Ireland – Mike Barry
Jersey / British Islands – Stuart McGlinchey
Northern Ireland / Ulster – Andy McClelland
Portugal – no personal contact provided.
Scotland – Ian Sherrington
USA – Mat Hoff
Wales – Tim Thomas

From October 2017 to the start of the 2019 World Championships, the Country Representatives (without voting responsibilities) are:

Canada – Ted Morris Costa Rica – Alvaro 'Toca' Gonzales Peru – Nathan Eades US East – Joey Hall

All other Countries with active surf kayakers are invited to nominate a Representative, and inform WSKA of their name and contact details.

The following Countries are represented at the 2017 or previous World Championships and are invited to nominate their Representative, and inform WSKA of their name and contact details:

Argentina –

Brazil -

Catalonia -

France -

Isle of Man – Italy – Japan – Sweden –

Other Countries known to have active surf kayakers are Israel and Norway.

The **Committee** are people within surf kayaking who have volunteered to contribute to the organisation, goals and success of the WSKA.

They are responsible for the routine operations of WSKA, and for researching and refining any significant proposals or recommendations to put before the Country Reps for decision.

John Watson – Interim Chairman
Darren Bason
Denzil Pearce
Edu Etxeberria
Joey Hall
Jose Pineiro
Malcolm Pearcey
Mat Hoff
Neil Baxter
Peter Blenkinsop
Rusty Sage
Stuart McGlinchey
Tim Thomas
Xabi Olano

Ashley Hunter, Canoe Association Northern Ireland (CANI) - liaison for the 2017 Worlds. Specific roles are also nominated: Stuart McGlinchey as Treasurer, Mat Hoff Facebook, Joey Hall website, Edu Etxeberria World Cup. The position of Secretary is currently vacant.

Funds are generated for the WSKA by each participant contributing £10 / 10 Euro / \$10 with their entry fee.

Funds are used for any essential costs in running the WSKA, and held in reserve to support World Championship events if necessary. All work for WSKA is voluntary and unpaid.

An explanation of the recent history of the WSKA and how it reached this point is in the Downloads section on <a href="https://www.wska.org">www.wska.org</a>

There will be an election for WSKA Chairman at the 2017 World Championships in Northern Ireland.